366 Days

Posted on

One year plus one day ago I was coming out of surgery and hoping that they got it all. After 3 scans and 3 trips to BWH, I am cancer free! Still have many follow ups to Boston to make sure things stay clean. That is the good news. The other side of the coin is that I still am not nearly as mobile as I hoped 12 months post surgery. There is atrophy in the muscles of my left thigh and I need to sort out how I can reverse that trend. I am trying different things to increase stability and strength and eventually, I will get back to pre-surgery form.

I was really hoping to be back to 100% at this point but I really have nothing to complain about as the alternative (cancer coming back) is far worse. I will continue to look for ways to get stronger. One goal was to be able to run the fitness test with my college team this fall but it would take nothing short of a miracle for that to happen. I will continue to work towards that goal over the next 30 days but realistically I will be aiming for making some turns on the white stuff this winter!

 

5 thoughts on “366 Days

    Ginny Lewis said:
    July 18, 2016 at 10:14 pm

    Hey, Lil’ Bro! Congratulations on doing so well! I know you’re disappointed that you aren’t 100% yet but considering all you’ve been through, you’re doing great!
    Love, Big Sis

    Like

    Dick Horan said:
    July 19, 2016 at 8:00 am

    Looking forward to skiing with you this winter
    Keep up on the PT

    Liked by 1 person

    Peg said:
    July 19, 2016 at 8:18 am

    Keep up the positive attitude Tony, you really are doing well.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

    Russ Redman said:
    July 19, 2016 at 9:28 am

    Congratulations Tony on your recovery to date! You are strong and have a great attitude regarding the time it has taken to get were you are today. I believe you will succeed in strengthening your leg to be ready for the slopes when the white stuff starts falling.
    Take care my friend!

    Like

    peter wallis said:
    July 24, 2016 at 9:43 pm

    Hey there Bro, Ya sounds like some good specific PT is inorder to strengthen that area, i do see thatworking as there are lots of good techniquesand practitioners out there… Will keep that vision of recovery in mind for you. Much Love, The B-Bro

    From: Tonys Journey To: pmwallis2002@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, July 18, 2016 6:43 PM Subject: [New post] 366 Days #yiv2200994260 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv2200994260 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv2200994260 a.yiv2200994260primaryactionlink:link, #yiv2200994260 a.yiv2200994260primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv2200994260 a.yiv2200994260primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv2200994260 a.yiv2200994260primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv2200994260 WordPress.com | latwallis posted: “One year plus one day ago I was coming out of surgery and hoping that they got it all. After 3 scans and 3 trips to BWH, I am cancer free! Still have many follow ups to Boston to make sure things stay clean. That is the good news. The other side of the co” | |

    Like

Leave a Reply

