4 Miles

Posted on

I hit a bit of  a milestone last weekend as Kathy and I took a long walk to enjoy the very unwinter like weather on Sunday. We headed down to Starbucks which is 2 miles from home. The weather was a bit chilly but chilly compared to a spring day not a February day. We kept a decent pace (for me it was decent but slow for Kathy) of about 18 minutes per mile. The last time I attempted a long walk I was in the mid 20’s per mile so this was progress!

Several factors weighed in that made the walk a success. First, I did not have to stop several times on the way to Starbucks to stretch as I did on the last long attempted walk. Also there was little to no discomfort in my thigh and I actually felt as close to “normal” as I have since surgery.

I did get a reality check when I tried to jog across the street and my left leg just would not cooperate. A fast walk was the best I could muster. Declines are still a challenge as the lack of muscle in my quad makes it difficult to be stable walking downhill.

All in all, it was a good step (excuse the pun) forward. 4 miles overall and we kept a decent pace of 18 minutes per mile. Still holding out hope for a day of skiing but my lack of ability to handle the slopes may be a moot point as mother nature decided to take a vacation from winter this year. There is not one part of my yard that has any snow left on it and the ski areas are struggling with the unseasonably warm weather. Last year the snow it was measured in feet and this year, nothing.

2 thoughts on “4 Miles

    Griffin, Shawn said:
    March 2, 2016 at 10:51 am

    Keep it going Tony! It’s great to be vertical!

    Griff

    Like

    peter wallis said:
    March 2, 2016 at 2:25 pm

    A good “step” indeed !! this is an excellent progress report 🙂 Our winters are reversed this year as last with us having90 and 100 inch bases at ski areas and virtually non-stopweeks of much much precip….amazing even for the NW ! Luv ya, the Bro

    From: Tonys Journey To: pmwallis2002@yahoo.com Sent: Tuesday, March 1, 2016 6:41 PM Subject: [New post] 4 Miles #yiv0456918968 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv0456918968 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv0456918968 a.yiv0456918968primaryactionlink:link, #yiv0456918968 a.yiv0456918968primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv0456918968 a.yiv0456918968primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv0456918968 a.yiv0456918968primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv0456918968 WordPress.com | latwallis posted: “I hit a bit of  a milestone last weekend as Kathy and I took a long walk to enjoy the very unwinter like weather on Sunday. We headed down to Starbucks which is 2 miles from home. The weather was a bit chilly but chilly compared to a spring day not a Febr” | |

    Like

Leave a Reply

