Getting Back on Track

Posted on

Yesterday was an unusually mild December day in New England so Kathy and I took advantage and headed out for a walk. Prior to my surgery we used to walk to Starbucks or the local Market Basket and back on a regular basis. The Starbucks round trip is about 4 miles and I have not felt up to that much walking all at one time until yesterday.

Other than some really tight hamstrings, the walk went very well. I had to stop a couple of times to stretch as my leg muscles tightened up but that was too be expected. We hung out at Starbucks and had a coffee/tea for a little while and I took advantage of the time by really stretching both hamstrings. That made all the difference as the walk back was much easier than the walk there. I still have some momentary balance issues as my body adjusts to a lack of muscle mass in my left leg and my knee “barks” at me once in awhile if I misstep.

All in all, it was pretty encouraging that I was able to make the 4 miles without too much trouble. I need to keep up the walking and continue to build back what the cancer took. The next goal will be carving some turns on a mountain somewhere in New England by January or February!

2 thoughts on “Getting Back on Track

    peter wallis said:
    December 7, 2015 at 6:37 pm

    Now that is pretty darn good trekin’ !!You are on your way, mi Bro…see yaon the slopes soon 🙂 LuvBro

    From: Tony’s Journey To: pmwallis2002@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, December 7, 2015 4:08 AM Subject: [New post] Getting Back on Track #yiv3756873343 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv3756873343 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv3756873343 a.yiv3756873343primaryactionlink:link, #yiv3756873343 a.yiv3756873343primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv3756873343 a.yiv3756873343primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv3756873343 a.yiv3756873343primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv3756873343 WordPress.com | latwallis posted: “Yesterday was an unusually mild December day in New England so Kathy and I took advantage and headed out for a walk. Prior to my surgery we used to walk to Starbucks or the local Market Basket and back on a regular basis. The Starbucks round trip is about” | |

    Like

    Pam said:
    December 7, 2015 at 10:46 pm

    Great news! Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

