Radiation Kit

Posted on

I thought I had posted the picture of my radiation kit/gear but apparently I never got around to it, so here it is. There is a bit of a story for each part of the kit. I would change into the shirt and the shorts before each radiation treatment.

The green ball cap never actually made it into the hospital. It stayed on the headrest of my passenger seat. It was my fathers that he got when he was ski racing at the Coppa Del Mondo in Piancavallo Italy in 1981. It was his last race. He was diagnosed with mesothelioma in June of 1981 and passed October 15. It was bittersweet putting it on the headrest each day but did provide strength and support.

The shirt holds a special significance as well. Max is the son a of good friend who was battling for his life when I got this short at a golf outing to support his family several years ago. Long story short, Max needed a heart transplant and he was not yet 3 years old. He spent months in Boston Children’s Hospital on the transplant list. He has an IV providing medicine that was keeping him alive so he could not leave the hospital. Mom and Dad traded off days driving from central Mass all the way to Boston to be with Max. He got his heart on August 4 2013 and is doing well today. You can see his story at http://www.mightymaxheart.com/

The shorts were just a pair of old adidas shorts that I slit up the side so the laser could find my tattoo during treatments. I hated having to wear a “johnny” so the shorts took care of that problem!

Rad Gear Rad Kit

One thought on “Radiation Kit

    peter wallis said:
    October 14, 2015 at 9:38 pm

    wow, bro, that is quite a set of special items! What a special remberance of Dad, that cap…and yes it was a dream come true for him at the end of time… I do remember the Max story, and am so glad he finally gothis heart…what a story…lots of love and perserverance here… thanks for the sharing…how is the leg these days? LuvB-bro

    From: Tony’s Journey To: pmwallis2002@yahoo.com Sent: Wednesday, October 14, 2015 7:59 AM Subject: [New post] Radiation Kit #yiv7836522647 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv7836522647 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv7836522647 a.yiv7836522647primaryactionlink:link, #yiv7836522647 a.yiv7836522647primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv7836522647 a.yiv7836522647primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv7836522647 a.yiv7836522647primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv7836522647 WordPress.com | latwallis posted: “I thought I had posted the picture of my radiation kit/gear but apparently I never got around to it, so here it is. There is a bit of a story for each part of the kit. I would change into the shirt and the shorts before each radiation treatment.The gr” | |

    Like

Leave a Reply

