Made it thru Pre-Season

Posted on

It was a bit of a struggle at times but I was able to survive the pre-season. The first few days were really hard as I had not moved that much since surgery. On Day 3 my leg and especially my ankle were really swollen. It was bad enough one of the trainers made me get off my feet at practice. He also suggested a tool called the Recovery Boot. It is a nylon sleeve that goes from my foot all the way up to the top of my thigh. The sleeve has 4 plastic air lines that feed air into the sleeve starting at my foot and work it’s way up to the top of my thigh. Then the air releases and it starts all over again. In a matter of less than 2 days the swelling was down by 70% in my ankle and almost the same in my thigh.

Using ice every day and the boot has really helped the recovery process. The range of motion gets a little better every day and I hope to ride my bike by the end of next week! I still have a bit of a hard time going up or down stairs or hills but it gets better every day. I am pretty wiped by the end of the day but seeing and feeling the daily progress keeps me coming back for more.

November 17 is my first CT/MRI scan since surgery. Hopefully they are negative and then I have another 3 months for the next check up. After 4 3 month checks it goes to every 6 months for a couple of years and then once a year up to year 5. That is when the official “all clear!” will be sounded.

2 thoughts on “Made it thru Pre-Season

    Scott Dodson said:
    September 1, 2015 at 8:02 pm

    I am glad to hear you are doing well, hopefully a year from now will be a large celebration !!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    peter wallis said:
    September 5, 2015 at 7:22 pm

    Good progress, mi Bro, yes the bod is letting you knowclearly when you over-do, and then it is time to make adjustments….hang in there with the seemingly slow pace…boot sounds like a real help 🙂 Luv ya, The Bro

    From: Tony’s Journey To: pmwallis2002@yahoo.com Sent: Tuesday, September 1, 2015 12:30 PM Subject: [New post] Made it thru Pre-Season #yiv1884942859 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv1884942859 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv1884942859 a.yiv1884942859primaryactionlink:link, #yiv1884942859 a.yiv1884942859primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv1884942859 a.yiv1884942859primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv1884942859 a.yiv1884942859primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv1884942859 WordPress.com | latwallis posted: “It was a bit of a struggle at times but I was able to survive the pre-season. The first few days were really hard as I had not moved that much since surgery. On Day 3 my leg and especially my ankle were really swollen. It was bad enough one of the trainer” | |

    Like

Leave a Reply

