4 Weeks Post Op 

Posted on Updated on

It has been 4 weeks since the surgery and there are a lot of good signs that tell me I am headed in the right direction. Not having to give myself blood thinning medications shots each morning is a big plus. I hate needles! All the steri-strips have fallen off the incision and the hole where the drain was located has healed nicely. Each morning the swelling looks to be a bit better than the previous day and the range of motion (directly related to the amount of swelling) increases a little each day. The limp is still there a bit and stairs or hills are a bit of a challenge. The muscles are still sorting themselves out and the swelling restricts or inhibits certain motions. Again, getting better every day and I know I should be happy with the progress but patience is not my strong suit especially when it comes to things that limit my activity.

Ice is still a daily thing and keeping it elevated when I can during the day is also a big help. By far the biggest plus is that so far we seemed to have dodged (knock on wood) the infection piece of the equation. Going in they told us that I had a 33% chance of getting an infection. Flip that around and I had a 66% chance of not getting one and it appears the odds worked in my favor which is a huge relief. I had visions of all kinds of nasty complications due to infection and it looks like we have dodged that bullet!

The true test will start later this week as preseason starts Thursday and things get a bit hectic from there until classes start on 8/31. I think I will be fine as long as I stay off it when we are not training and keep up with the ice and Tylenol.

One thought on “4 Weeks Post Op 

    peter wallis said:
    August 17, 2015 at 3:55 pm

    slow but sure, the turtle wins the race ! good progress Bro !! luv ya, petrBro

    Like

Leave a Reply

