Next Steps

Posted on

We made the all too familiar trek to BWH today for a follow up with Dr Ferrone. For some reason I was feeling a bit anxious and I was not really sure why. Maybe it was a fear of what we might find when the bandages were removed to expose the 18″ incision and maybe the fear of infection. Also, would the drain be taken out or would it have to stay in another week? 

As it turned out, my fears were unfounded. The incision is healing perfectly and they removed all 20+ stitches. The drain also came out and Dr Ferrone did a great job of misdirection while taking the drain out. He was talking to Kathy and to me and before I knew it, the 18″ drain was out and I did not feel a thing. 

While my leg is still pretty swollen and sore, things are ahead of schedule and so far all of the bad things that could happen, have not materialized. No infection and the healing process is spot on! 

Next steps consist of not much other than return visits for CT scans and MRI’s every 3 months over the next year and then at set intervals over the next 5 years. As long as everything comes back clean, we are in great shape. 

It has been an amazing journey and we are over the hump for the moment. My surgeon, Dr Ferrone has done an amazing job along with Dr Beth Baldini, my oncologist. I am so thankful for all the people at Dana Farber and BWH. Both are truly special places that give hope to those afflicted with cancer. 

One thought on “Next Steps

    Pam said:
    August 6, 2015 at 12:38 am

    That’s great, Tony!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

