Slot 321

Posted on Updated on

We made the trek to BWH yesterday to meet with Dr Ferrone. As we pulled into the 45 Francis st parking garage at about 11 AM, I made a joking comment about probably not getting “my” parking spot. During my radiation trips I would be one of the first to enter the garage every morning and I always parked in “my” parking spot, # 321. We got our ticket and pulled around the corner to start to head down into the garage in search of a spot. All the spots near the entry way to BWH were full, except one. My spot, #321, was unoccupied and was the only open slot on the first level. Could not help but feel a bit of good karma was in the air!

We met with Dr Ferrone after about a 2 hour wait. We were early and they were running behind. He was hoping the fluid had slowed enough to remove the drain from my thigh but the numbers are still too high. Getting better every day but we are not there yet. It is important to have the amount of fluid coming out to be less than 30 ML in 24 hours otherwise it can build up should the drain be removed too early and potentially cause infection. It stays in until we go back on August 5th.

The highlight of the visit was getting the final pathology report on the tumor. CLEAN MARGINS all around! They had done testing while I was on the OR table but they continued the testing to make sure that there were no cancerous cells in any of the tissue that was removed with the tumor. Great news to say the least. We asked lots of questions and as always Dr Ferrone took all the time we needed to answer all of the things that we threw at him. It is not a hereditary disease, good news for my children, and I am no more likely to get another sarcoma than any one else. It is a random disease and they don’t know why some people get it and others don’t.

Dr Ferrone is very happy with my progress and it was great to see him smile and be so engaging and open which is something we never saw during treatment. He was always very “stoic” and hardly smiled but now that we have the hard part behind us he has really opened up and is actually pretty funny. I asked how many stitches he used to close me up and he responded that he lost track as he can’t count higher than 3.

He was very clear that I have to take it easy and even though I feel great I can’t return to my normal level of activity for a while. I get it, don’t like it but I get it and yesterday was a good example as I was really sore and super slow moving due to moving too much the day before. It comes back to the tortoise approach which I am not good at but I have to learn to live with over the next few weeks.

5 thoughts on “Slot 321

    Scott Dodson said:
    July 25, 2015 at 9:12 am

    Tony, glad to hear the good news! It sounds like they know exactly what they are doing and giving you great care. Keep getting better, your team needs you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Fred Szostak said:
    July 26, 2015 at 1:31 pm

    Good news for you, keep working through it and I know you will. Go Hawks!

    Like

    Pam said:
    July 26, 2015 at 10:58 pm

    Sounds like you are on the road to recovery! Cool! Really good about the margins.
    My tai chi instructor has had gout and says tart cherries & tart cherry juice help keep it at bay. Keep hanging in there. Love ya

    Liked by 1 person

      latwallis responded:
      July 27, 2015 at 8:29 am

      Thanks for the heads up on the cherries!

      Like

    awakeninggraceyoga said:
    July 27, 2015 at 8:09 pm

    Keep writing Tony! The story of your parking spot is inspiring along with your positive attitude throughout this entire process. Such a potent reminder that the Universe is bigger than we think; that sometimes the smallest things can remind us of so much. Sending good juju your way as you rest and heal. Stay positive… you have a boat load of people cheering you along. Patience is good… builds character. 🙂
    Namaste!

    Like

Leave a Reply

