One Week Post-Surgery

Posted on Updated on

A week ago at this time I was sound asleep on the operating table about in the middle of a 6 hour surgery and Kathy was trying to pass the time reading and pacing in and around the waiting area at BWH. Looking back I had the easier end of that deal for sure.

Things are progressing very well. I am able to get up and down stairs using just the hand rail. No crutches to get around and while I am moving pretty slowly (not that I ever claimed to be fast) but I am getting around really well. The gout has subsided and I have just a little swelling left but no pain. You can bet I have been doing my homework on what causes gout to make every effort not to have to deal with that ever again.

The range of motion gets better every day and I am walking pretty much pain free but it is still stiff which is expected with a 15″ incision. The thigh muscles seem pretty good but they are also stiff and a bit sore, again nothing unexpected there. I am taking to tortoise approach, slow and steady wins the race. It is not in my nature to be patient when it comes to limiting my activity but I know this is the right approach and I need to find that balance between pushing myself to get better and pushing too much.

I was able to get out yesterday for the first time and it was really nice to be out of the house. Met Kathy for lunch and then headed over to the college. It was great to be back on campus and things are looking good for the fall. The game field looks awesome and while I am enjoying the summer, can’t wait for preseason to start.

While I was at the college I ran into one of my co-workers who has been battling cancer for quite a while longer than I have. She has been thru a lot more than I have had to deal with and her courageous attitude and mindset have been an inspiration to me. She walked around the corner to greet me and I was thrilled to see how good she looks. Healthy and vibrant would be great words to describe how she looked. It seemed like yesterday when she would be at her desk and you could see the toll of the treatments and cancer in her eyes. Her progress has been fantastic and you never heard a complaint or poor me attitude from her. The highlight of my day for sure!

Back to BWH tomorrow to see Dr Ferrone to check on the incision and the drain. Hoping for good news as infection is still on the table as a hurdle to overcome.

2 thoughts on “One Week Post-Surgery

    Diane Adinolfo said:
    July 23, 2015 at 11:08 am

    Nice job Tony. Keep up the great work.

    Liked by 1 person

    peter wallis said:
    July 23, 2015 at 12:31 pm

    yes tortoise wins the day! and the race, as you may recall 🙂 an excellent progress report, so glad to hear the gout is somuch improved ! Much Love, PetrBro

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

