A step back

Posted on

It has been a rough day and in a way I never expected. Woke up this morning with stiffness and a really sore big toe on the same leg that I had surgery on 2 days ago. 

Thought it might be due to the fluid in my thigh draining into my left foot.  It seem to make sense as I am putting out 150-200cc of fluid daily thru the drain tube in my thigh that a portion of the fluid could be working its way down to my ankle and left foot. 

I opted for the RICE (Rest, Ice, Compression & Elevation) method hoping it would reduce the fluid and pain in my left foot. As we applied the second round of ice, my left toe went crazy and I was in more pain than I have ever felt. 

We called the hospital and the on-call doctor suggested we come in or go to a local ER. Fearing it was an infection we opted to to head to Boston. Long story short, I have Gout. Never had it before but it can be be brought on by a traumatic event to the body (such as a 6 hour surgery) among many other factors. We spent 4 hours+ in the BWH ER and did not get home until almost 11PM. 

If you have had Gout, say no more. If you have not, you don’t want it. Tremendous pain in my foot and it dwarves the pain I feel from the 6 hour surgery incision. The problem is the meds needed to correct Gout are counter productive to the healing process of the surgery. They came up with an inflamatory drug that will work but I have to deal with the pain for the next 2-3 days as the meds do their job. 

The pain meds I am on for the surgery don’t even come close to taking off the edge of the pain from the Gout. I have to find the most comfortable spot on the couch that I can and hope I can get some sleep. 

Tomorrow will be a better day I am sure. Need to get some sleep and hope the anti-inflamatory meds do their job sooner rather than later. 

3 thoughts on “A step back

    Pam said:
    July 19, 2015 at 1:51 am

    Omg, Tony, I have heard how bad gout is! Just what you needed! Please hang in there and we will continue to send good thoughts!

    Like

    Scott Dodson said:
    July 19, 2015 at 10:52 am

    Tony, my Dad dealt with gout for years and he was off his feet all of the time. Hopefully the pain backs off and you keep healing quickly. So glad everything went well with the surgery. Keeping positive thoughts for you ……

    Liked by 1 person

      latwallis responded:
      July 19, 2015 at 10:54 am

      My gut feeling is this is a one time thing brought on my the surgery. If it was not for the gout, I would barely need crutches and almost no pain meds.

      Like

Leave a Reply

