Little Vacation Before Surgery

Posted on Updated on

Kathy and I have been making a swing thru Florida visiting family. We started out in West Palm and spent the 4th with Steve, Carly and almost 3 year old Ellie. It was a great visit and it flew by. Watching Ellie dance to some 4th of July music while waving a flag down by the water during the 4th of July celebration in West Palm was priceless.

Next on the docket was a trip cross state to thee west coast and Punta Gorda to spend a few days with Kathy’s parents. We got in some great beach time as well as several great meals at local restaurants. It is special for me to see Kathy with her parents as I don’t have the same opportunity since I lost my mom in 2004 and my father way back in 1981. Even though it’s been 11 and 34 years since they passed I still hold their memories close to my heart and think of them often. I would not be who I am today without their love, guidance and god knows what had to be, tons of patience. I was not what you would consider an easy child in the days of my youth. We had a great visit with her parents and got in some quality time.

Next stop is Jacksonville Beach. We leave in the morning to make the 5 hour trek across and up the state of Florida. Really looking forward to spending time with Chris, Hannah and almost 3 year old Charlotte. It will be an added bonus to be able to spend tomorrow night with Chris on his birthday. It has been many years since we have been able to celebrate it with him.

The time with family has been a much needed distraction as I am getting a bit anxious as July 16th nears. Although I am in great hands with the staff at Dana Farber / BWH, it is still a bit unnerving. 4-5 hours of surgery followed by 3-5 days of recovery in the hospital and then all the unknowns make for some restless nights. Will the margins be clean when they remove the tumor? Will infection set in and cause complications? I could go on and on but I have to try and put those thoughts aside and go into this with a positive mind set. Easier said then done but my approach has to be that way. I have seen the power of positive thinking all thru this journey and now is not the time to change course.

2 thoughts on “Little Vacation Before Surgery

    Fred Szostak said:
    July 9, 2015 at 9:12 am

    Good Luck moving forward Coach! You have the greatest attitude to take it on

    Liked by 1 person

    peter wallis said:
    July 9, 2015 at 6:58 pm

    So great you are getting that quality time withyour dear sons and grand-girls !!  precious time together and precious memories 🙂 Much Love toyou and Kathy, PetrBro and Greta

    Like

Leave a Reply

