Day 24

Posted on

Heading to Boston and BWH this morning for day 24 of radiation treatment. Weather looks pretty good so I should be able to get in my 4 walking miles before treatment. Tomorrow will be day 25 and the end of the getting up at 4AM leave at 5AM trips to Boston. It is the end of the 1st phase and probably the easiest phase of the process. There is still a long road ahead and while the prognosis continues to be good there are many twists and turns yet to happen.

Each morning before I leave the house I get the piece of paper that has been hanging on the side of the refrigerator or sitting on the kitchen island since day 1 of treatment. Down the right side of the paper are numbers 1 thru 25. Each day as I leave, quietly so as to try not to wake Kathy, I mark off the day of treatment. Number 24 gets an X thru it this morning. I also write that number somewhere on the paper with a short note to Kathy and leave it on the island for her. It has been our way of counting down and my way of saying, I love you, every morning since I am gone before she wakes.

4 thoughts on “Day 24

    Ginny Lewis said:
    June 16, 2015 at 8:19 am

    Tony – my thoughts, prayers and love are with you every day! Keep up the positive attitude and you’ll do well on your healing path.

    Love,
    Ginny

    Liked by 1 person

    Pam said:
    June 16, 2015 at 12:31 pm

    Sounds like you have had an amazing journey! Think you did well by doing a daily routine to deal with the stress. So on to the next phase. Hang in there!
    My love and thoughts are with you. Love, Sis

    Liked by 1 person

    Scott Dodson said:
    June 16, 2015 at 5:14 pm

    Keep going my friend, your focus is in the right place 🙂

    Like

    peter wallis said:
    June 17, 2015 at 4:20 pm

    Wow, does that mean today was day 25 and you are complete with phase 1 ???/hope so,….onward and ending up in good shape for the wedding !!! Such interesting history you have been walking thru each day… LuvBro

    Like

Leave a Reply

