Dealing with the News

Posted on Updated on

Hearing the news Friday was actually not as bad as I thought it might have been but I think part of that was denial/shock. The reality is starting to sink in and while I am in a good situation as compared to where I could be, it is still quite a bit to wrap my head around.

Not a lot of sleep over the past couple of nights. Once I wake up, that’s it. My mind is going trying to understand all the implications both positive and negative. Reading lots of blogs and web sites to gather as much information as possible before we meet with the doctors on Monday afternoon to figure out a course of action. Everything I am finding tells me a couple of things. First, we are in the right place with Brigham Womens Hospital and Dana Farber Cancer Institute. They have done everything the right way from the start and all the research comes back to being at a place that specializes in Sarcoma is key. It is nothing to be toyed with as 20 years ago the first course of action with Sarcoma in an extremity was amputation. Second, there are more positives than negatives when I look at the overall situation. Kind of like the Hunger Games, “May the odds forever be in your favor”, right now they are and that is a good thing!

I am getting a lot done around the house. I had no idea how much dirt got carried into the garage over the winter! The garage has never looked more organized after an all out attack on it yesterday. Keeping busy is key with productive things not just busy stuff. The cellar is next on my list as it is long overdue for a serious spring cleaning. Then it’s off to Boston with Kathy for the Boston Breakers home opener. My friend, Lee Billiard, is their GM and they have a player from Brazil, Suzane Pires, who played against me for Southern Ct State. She is a great kid and I wish her well. It will be nice to see her playing at the professional level. God knows she caused us some problems during her time at Southern but even then, she was fun to watch.

One thought on “Dealing with the News

    Barbara Mathe said:
    April 27, 2015 at 12:02 pm

    Saying prayers and sending much positive energy your way. You are strong and will get through this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

