The Journey Begins

Posted on Updated on

Welcome to my blog. I have never done this before but it seems like the right thing to communicate with friends and co-workers as I work thru this journey with what may be a cancerous Sarcoma tumor in my thigh. I will be posting on this blog as I go thru the testing and treatments to get myself back to 100% health. I don’t want to burden people with my troubles but I know people care and therefore, I created this blog for them to follow along and even comment if they want. The user name is a combination of my home town, Los Alamos, my first initial and last name, latwallis

So, how did I get to where I am today in the journey? It all started pretty innocently with a slight twinge in my left quad. I noticed it off and on for a couple of months and passed it off as nothing to worry about. On March 21st, I got out of the shower and noticed a slight bump under the skin on the front of my upper left thigh. I was able move it back and forth a little but it was not painful. It was however, a bit unsettling.

I met with my doctor on March 23rd and he wanted to get an Ultrasound. He was not overly concerned and felt it was probably Lipoma. Lipoma is a fatty mass that is not uncommon in people and animals. Our dog has some small deposits (lipoma) on her chest that we had checked out with our vet last year so I was familiar with the term.

Ultrasound on March 30th was inconclusive so an MRI was the next step. The MRI was done on April 1st (no joke here) at the Elliot in Londonderry. I was able to look at the pictures and you could clearly see something there. It was about 3 inches long and 1.5 inches wide. It was located in my upper left quad and when I put my hand in my pocket, my hand sits right on top of it. The tech was not sure what it was (and would not have said anything if he knew what it was) but that was the point in time when I started to be a bit concerned.

On Friday April 3rd I got a call from my doctors office at 7AM asking me to come in at noon. I arrived at my doctors at 12PM. The second I saw his face I knew it was not good news. The MRI revealed that there was a tumor in my thigh and the radiologist felt it was a Sarcoma. The Journey begins…..

7 thoughts on “The Journey Begins

    CJ Gardner said:
    April 9, 2015 at 1:14 pm

    Tony,
    The blog is an excellent idea. Welcome to the wonderful world of cancer. This journey will give you a whole new perspective on life. It sounds like you have a good team of doctors, but remember you have to be your own best doctor. Don’t be afraid to question and also remember you don’t always have to say yes. Sometimes it is good to say no. As crass as it my seem and as I was reminded by my oncologists – it is a business.
    Everbody focuses on the physical side of cancer but few focus on the emotional side. This where the support of your friends and your own attitude come into play. Stay positive. Have your “cancer days” such as when you are recieving treatments – but then pick your self up and get back to life. Immerse your self in your family, work and your favorite things.
    You are going to out on the side of this and be stronger. You will have a whole new perspective on life. As they said in movie Training Day – King Kong has nothing on me.

    Stay strong drink plenty of water and eat lots of broccolie.

    Don’t be afraid to call me if you need to talk.

    Your cancer buddy,
    CJ

    Liked by 1 person

    Luanne said:
    April 9, 2015 at 8:22 pm

    In my thoughts and prayers Tony. One day at a time buddy.

    Like

    Scott Dodson said:
    April 10, 2015 at 12:12 am

    We are always here for you no matter the time of day or night!

    Like

      latwallis responded:
      April 10, 2015 at 12:33 am

      Okay…will be calling you around 3AM!

      Thanks for the thoughts.

      Like

        Scott Dodson said:
        April 10, 2015 at 12:59 am

        I guess I need to start leaving my phone on all night …..will you be wearing Kahkis ?

        Liked by 1 person

    Gabe said:
    April 10, 2015 at 1:37 am

    Hey Tony,
    Sounds like you are in good spirits – as someone already said, the mental part is just as important. Keep it up – you have a lot of people pulling for you!
    Gabe

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

